top of page
  • Immagine del redattoreAME

The italian boy and puroresu.

On our blog we told you about the adventure of Akira in Japan, the Italian talent who in these months has almost realized a dream going to fight for AJPW, one of the most renowned Japanese wrestling federations in the country of the rising sun, but not there we are stopped at this. Turn Tweener went to ask Akira specific questions regarding his story in AJPW and about the difference between wrestling that has practically always in Italy and the Japanese one.


How much has the vision you had of AJPW changed since your arrival in Japan?

Akira: I appreciate the puroresu, but not following it very much I never considered myself a true fan of the type of wrestling done in Japan, even though I know well federations like the NJPW and the AJPW. When I found myself there I found another style of wrestling that immediately shock me, and in my opinion it is the best style I have ever seen, especially in terms of storytelling and its 'strong style' . I really liked the AJPW and I was pleasantly impressed.


Who are the wrestlers with whom you found yourself better?

Akira: The first name I can make is definitely Tajiri, I learned a lot from him on my trip to Japan and when we faced each other in the ring I had a great time. But in general I can say that they are all excellent wrestlers, starting from Iwamoto Koji, the Jr. champion, really a phenomenon or the AJPW pair champion, Ishikawa Shuji, with whom I really enjoyed fighting. The list is long though: Yoshitatsu, Kento, Jake Lee, Yusuke Okada, I found myself really well with these names but my favorite match was definitely against Iwamoto Koji.


How has Akira changed since the period in Japan?

Akira: Very. For now, my experience package was based solely on Italy and abroad, but going to the home of wrestling where it really is considered something important has changed me a lot. Training every day certainly gave me new visions of wrestling and I had a lot to learn from the teachers in the dojo: Tajiri, Akiyama and all the other trainers. Through this experience Akira has changed and matured, I had the opportunity to add some new moves, but above all, I changed the way I move in the ring, and the way I think in the ring.


From your point of view, how much difference is there between Japanese and Italian wrestling?

Akira: The difference is so great and it surely initially displaced me.

In Japan wrestling is very professional, and we see the high level of discipline and respect present in it. In short, the level difference is felt but in my opinion, Italian wrestling has far too many talents who do not have the deserved visibility.

What I am looking for is to mix the Italian style with the Japanese one made of very "strong" strokes, in part I succeeded and I like it very much.

In short, the two styles of wrestling are very different but easily usable together.


Who would you like to see on the AJPW roster here in Italy and against whom?

Akira: I would absolutely like to review Tajiri (editor's note: he has already worked in Italy) and Iwamoto Koji, maybe in a match against Nick Lenders (editor's note: ex-top champion of Italian championship wrestling). I would also like to see Jake Lee, perhaps against wrestlers like Corleone (editor's note: ex interregional ICW champion) and I would certainly like to see in Italy one like Ishikawa that I would like to repeat.


Instead, asking the reverse question: which of your Italian colleagues would you like to see in Japan?

Akira: Nick Lenders is definitely the first name that comes to mind and that I'd like to see in Japan, it's very talented and it wouldn't look bad. Together with him I would also like to see Trixie, maybe in Stardom or Sendai, the experience would definitely improve both. Having another wrestling idea can help you improve and grow for the better.


I close with one last question, from your point of view, do you think that in the future you will set foot in All Japan?

Akira: I cannot confirm yet and therefore I should remain silent but we are working on it. For now I can only say that in AJPW I had a great time, it's a really incredible federation and even if now I can't reveal all my secrets, yes, I want to go back to All Japan!

This is the last question, we once again thank Akira for his availability and we wish him good luck in his career, moreover, Turn Tweener would also like to thank you Patreons for supporting Turn Tweener and we look forward to seeing you very soon with a second exclusive interview for you!

6 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti
bottom of page